Pushing

I got my brain into South Sudan mode, which generally means accepting a high degree of randomness and thwarted attempts to complete tasks, peppered frequently with heartwarming moments.

Impatience has to be kept hidden, as it's a damaging approach in the long term. And everyone else around is excellent at waiting. It's a skill people have had to hone over a lifetime, whether it's waiting for peace, a bank teller or fuel. During my last few trips, crippling fuel shortages have been playing out and vehicles are piled up at gas stations, often for days.

Most people in Juba respond to the question 'how is Juba?' with 'Juba is ok. We are pushing'. This is about as negative a response as can be received, similar to the British 'I'm fine thanks', said with one leg hanging off.

This is the chimp baby Ezo, doing so much better than when he was shackled to the roots of a tree in Yambio. The chimps are grounded in Juba while they wait for permits to allow them to be moved internationally to an appropriate chimpanzee sanctuary. They came close to greet me but I resisted holding out a finger after the consternation having done this caused when I was in hospital in October.

'Have you had any animal contact?'
'Well aside from the plethora of rats, bats, mice and insects that live around us when in South Sudan, I did touch a chimp on Tuesday.'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.