Plus ça change...

By SooB

Frosted olives

Perishing cold this morning.  Even when I got back from the meeting at the school (10am) it was still minus three.

The meeting was fine.  CarbBoy was unusually charming and the doctor wrote lots of nice things about what a super young man he is.  I did not demur.  TallGirl had a text from a friend this morning (the boy that CarbBoy keeps calling her "BOY friend" with air quotes, so that now even I'm annoyed by the joke) to tell her the teacher she has all her worthwhile lessons with this morning is off, so she didn't go in until 2.  (I pointed out to CarbBoy that if he was really a BOY friend in the way CB means, she would have gone in anyway.  He had to see the logic in that.)

Anyway, it was cold.  So I took some frosty photos outside until my hands started hurting.  The frozen daisies were bonnier, but this seems right.  Later, once the sun had been out for a while, it was quite mild and - but for having a billion things to do that I couldn't avoid - I would have gardened.  As it was, I was limited to opening the cold frames for a bit of fresh air (and thus checking on my pet butterfly).

Later, I did more odd (ie being his PA) work for Mr B, interspersed with panicking about how I've suddenly spotted it's December and I don't have either presents or, critically, ideas for presents.  From the list in front of me, I am about 50% there on the ideas now, still 0% on the actualisation.  Still, it's the thought that counts, right?

Later still, TallGirl monopolising the TV made me realise that it might be time to get a second one.  I have a heavy heart about that, as I do feel I just won't ever see my kids in the same room again.  But it will stop the bickering.  I think I will put the second one in the attic room where it is a reasonable temperature in approximately May and October.  The rest of the year it is either 40 degrees or minus something.  That should sort out the PS4 / Grey's Anatomy fans from the wimps.

#cruelparenting
#whoevertoldyoulifewasgoingtobefair

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.