LightWave

By LightWave

The Woods

I got up with the dawn and went for a walk in the woods. Those aren't words that you will read very often! The weather is much warmer now, the air is still and the colours are changing daily.

When I got home, a delicious breakfast was waiting for me. What an incredibly fabulous husband I have!

Later on, we decided to hike a little bit of the Ice Age Trail - this is a 1200 mile path that extends from Green Bay to the St Croix valley (our end) and traces the toe of the last glacier that covered the state and moulded the hills. We had a little trouble finding the trailhead - should have brought a map - but we managed a short walk along the McKenzie Lake section. Actually, we did much more driving than walking, but at least I was able to take in the astonishing beauty of the landscape at this time of year - yellow cornfields, waiting to be harvested, farmhouses, old barns, blue sky, little copses everywhere turning red and yellow and countless ponds reflecting it all. We even saw a bald eagle (our second) feasting on an unfortunate raccoon that had met it's end on the highway.

Amazingly, when we got home there was still time for another 9 holes of golf. I tried to keep score this time, and I was doing pretty well (single figures!) until the last two holes when I went to pieces. But we saw a pair of bluebirds when we were out on the course, didn't know they were still around at this time of year. A welcome glass of Spotted Cow at the clubhouse, then I just about fell into bed.

Polk County, Wisconsin



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.