Pennsylvania Farm Scene, Early December

Aside from a flurry here or there, we have not really had any substantial snow yet. The farmers around here are still busy, working in the fields and trying to get everything done before winter truly sets in.

I always watch with fascination as the fields become filled with golden bales this time of year. I was told by a friend, though, that they are not hay bales, but corn stalk bales. And I believe him.

I covet these golden bales. I love the patterns they make in the fields. Whenever possible, I stop for pictures. But sometimes the farmers are too quick to scoop them up and move them out. A girl with a camera has to move fast!

So on this morning, I pulled the car in at the little cemetery along route 550 and scurried quickly (and carefully) across the road to visit my golden bales. I took a number of shots of the bales themselves. And of the black birds (crows?) that were gathering around them.

Then I spotted the farm implements that helped create the bales, and I thought they were pretty darn cute too. They look like toys for a child. Big toys, maybe, for big kids. So here is a shot of the tractors, the round bales, the bare trees, and the birds, among the golden farm fields of central Pennsylvania.

The soundtrack: Kenny Chesney, with a fun little tune called She Thinks My Tractor's Sexy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.