Knit, Knit

A lovely way to end the week...spent a few hours introducing a former colleague of mine, to the LivingRoom Art Studio, which is an art hive in the downtown area of our city.  It is an organization for which I am honoured to sit on the Advisory Committee.  The idea is to make art accessible to all people, regardless of age or socio-economic status.  Art is such a fabulous way to express ourselves...we certainly do it in this blip world  : ))  (All supplies at the studio are free but donations are quite accepted.)

This evening, a young man who frequents the studio was struggling.  He does have autism and has his social struggles.  He often scares people with his self-talk, anger, and swearing.  When I approached him, he looked up and said, "Oh f***.  Not you."   Turns out, he was trying to teach himself how to arm knit because needles terrified him and he needed a new scarf for winter.  I told  him that today was his lucky day as I had been knitting for half a century and had taught many people to knit. 

I took this photo as I left the studio.  No doubt there will be quite a few dropped stitches and cursing, but I do hope that he manages to knit  himself a scarf eventually.

I hope your week was satisfying and you all have a restful and fun-filled weekend  : )

D x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.