horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Swan Dunk

Edges out the evil night swan.

Nice ride home after work, especially after the morning had come complete with overtaking eejit. Held up for seconds, decides to overtake as I'm passing a parked car (with reversing lights on and decanting kids for school); with a car coming the other way (which was forced to brake and shift left). I gave a Gallic shrug (France still lives recent in the memory, but seriously, no shouting, no swearing, no obscene gestures) whereupon his brake lights lit and something was waved back at me. As if it was my fault.

Yes, of course I was in primary from the lights. That's because the road ahead is narrowed by the lights on the other side, and then there are the aforementioned parked cars. It took 9 seconds to travel from the lights to the overtaking point, meaning he lost, roughly, 2 seconds on his journey time. Oh, and the road was clear after the oncoming car. And it's a 20mph zone. Downhill. So he's getting nowhere fast (and indeed just after passing, before the mirror-wave, is having to brake).

Pointless.

But day wasn't bad, despite being busy. Classic management-speak today as well. I was emailed to be asked if something I was doing for Friday would be ready on time. Except he couldn't ask if it was going to be ready for Friday, what he wanted to know was, "Can we have a pulse check on progress?"

Macaroon obsession continues. Moved onto recipe-less, and tweaking to what I think will suit our oven better. I might not get good enough at everything else for the Great British Bake Off, but I plan to be a macaroon master before long...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.