Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Crest

Having dropped 13yo at a party in Shipley, and while 10yo was busy rehearsing for a nativity I did a circuit down the canal and river to Dowley Gap and back through Hirst Wood.

There were no Kingfishers for me today, but I saw one Cormorant on the river. At the sewage works the filter beds were busy with Pied Wagtails and what seemed to be Meadow Pipits as well as scores of gulls.

Heading back over the aqueduct, at eye level with the tops of the trees,  I spied a couple of Goldcrests flitting from branch to branch. Seen in today's image, I wondered if the crest is another piece of good camouflage - one smear of yellow lichen among many.

Other encounters included Robins, Jays and Mistle Thrush, but I've still not come across any redwing this winter.

Given the kids hectic schedule of engagements, of which more tomorrow, they weren't keen on a trip out to the football in the afternoon. So of course we missed a 4-3 epic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.