Jam

Romford Market still has proper little market stalls that don't just sell cheap clothes. There's a great tool stall, local nurserys sell plants and there are a couple of stalls that sell little bits and pieces. There's an old boy selling eggs and nearby there's another couple of old boys selling odds and ends of fruit. This week they had cherries, wet walnuts and damsons.

Ant and I arrived when they had one large scoop of damsons left, and they sold us three pounds half price. Last week I'd bought strawberries and made strawberry jam and I'd been thinking how much I liked damson jam and how you didn't see damsons around that much. And there they were! Seven pounds of jam for £1.50 (I already had some jam sugar) four pounds of strawberry jam for £2 and four jars of chilli jam for £3.

Bargacious by anybody's standards. And I got a lot of pleasure out of doing it. Though there are an awful lot of stones to fish out of the jam in three pounds of damsons!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.