Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Cold in York

I really don’t know why such a low resolution of the photo uploads from my iPad - I can’t find any setting to change it. Anyway, After a last minute change of plan from Lincoln, Sarah and I came to York for the weekend.

We walked around the ice sculpture trail, browsed the various Christmas markets, explored the Victorian Christmas Street at the Castle Museum, ate a lot, bought a long coveted Niffler, then last night went to the Christmas lights at Museum Gardens. Despite some fairly poor reviews the lights were very good, especially the projections on the Abbey ruins. It was quite magical as we stood and watched -tiny little snowflakes started to drift down.

That was it for the snow though, and the forecast of Armageddon for Huddersfield seems now to be a couple of flurries, possibly.

I’ll add an extra of the fire garden, and also one of sunset on the walls, which I took just before dropping the camera. My lovely new camera that I love so much, and which I bought here in York only a few weeks ago. It’s fair to say it is kaputt, I just hope the lovey people at Cannon can resuscitate it.

After last weeeknd without heating I was hoping for a warm hotel - ‘‘twas not to be as the heating in our room is as kaputt as the camera. I slept in my thermals and all the hotel could do was offer an extra duvet. A single for the two of us in a king sized bed. It’s supposed to be a five star hotel! I am jinxed. Still, we’ve had a lovely time, and I am hoping the hotel redeems itself with breakfast. We haven’t decided what to do for the rest of the day, probably,y just hope the heating is on in Hudds!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.