Jado

By Jado

Bramall Hall

Every year for the last 7 years I have visited Little Moreton Hall during December.  Not only do they decorate the hall for Christmas, but they also have Tudor entertainment at weekends.  It is a great day out.

My visit for 2017 was scheduled for today - the only free weekend day I have in December this year.  And guess what?  They closed Little Moreton Hall yesterday and today due to the 'adverse weather'.  So I will not get to Little Moreton Hall this year - I walked to Bramall Hall instead (no snow around here).  Bramall Hall is also decorated for Christmas - but with some quite strange decorations, which actually work surprisingly well.

The blip is The Solar at Bramall Hall which contains some of the best examples of 16th century wall paintings you will find anywhere in the country.

PS.  It is now snowing here.  The National Trust may dare to close Little Moreton Hall when the weather gets bad, but I they'd better not mess with the Hare Hill volunteers' Christmas lunch tomorrow ;-)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.