Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Remembering Mum

We haven't very much snow here in Cumbria, just that left over from a couple of days ago, but we do have a lot of sky!

It would have been Mum's 90th birthday today. I went down to the churchyard with a Christmas wreath to lay on her grave. It seems odd: a wreath when I would have been giving her flowers. I went round 4 places yesterday, trying to buy one. I could find anything special enough. I have always imagined lovingly constructing one myself, I have the wire frames, but where does time go? I personalised the one in Extras that I settled for with some sprigs of holly from our garden.

Three birthdays now without her. I haven't cried yet but I feel, after these years, close to it now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.