Strange Creature

There are thousands of these strange little creatures washed up on the Rockaway Beach today. They vary in size from a finger to a finger nail. They are firm like a cucumber but shoot out a gelatin substance when touched. I have never seen them before and as I read about them I found out they are usually in warm water; they glow in the water. I read that they are show up on the Oregon Coast Line; the prediction is that the Ocean water has been unusually warm for a couple of years so they could survive here but as the water have become colder, the correct temperature for this area, they died and washed up on shore. That sounds right to me. They are called Pyrosomes. Here is a link to read more: https://news.nationalgeographic.com/2017/06/pyrosome-fire-body-bloom-eastern-pacific-warm-water/
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.