Stevens Shots

By StevenC44

That awkward moment when...

Hello Blippers! Hope your all well!

Today at school, A friend found it quite funny that I didn't know what the phrase (or movie) 'friends with benefits' meant/was about. Just before the end of the day, Bianka was nice enough to explain it to me. And there was me thinking it just meant a group of unemployed people (because they get benefits for the government).

According to the news, 16 & 17 year olds will probably be able to vote when the Scottish Independence Referendum comes around in Autumn 2014, which is good because I'll be 17 then. It seems to have sparked furious debates online. I'm surprised at how 'immature, irresponsible, clueless, naive and downright stupid' a lot of adults seemed to believe my generation is.

Take this from a young persons point of view. We are not stupid. Most of us are perfectly aware that Mr.Salmond only wants us to vote because he thinks most of us will say yes ( I probably will, but that's irrelevant). When it comes to deciding our country's future, we have as much right as any adult on deciding it, especially since if it is a yes, by the time we get actual independence, most of us will be getting ready to enter, or already in, the world of work.

There are plenty of people 18 and over who are a lot more 'immature, irresponsible, clueless, naive and downright stupid' than we are (those were actually all real comments from people online). I think most people of my generation take independence very seriously. And the 'stupid' people probably wouldn't vote anyway.

Right, well I think that's enough from me for one blip. I'll probably continue this soon :)

Have a nice Thursday!

Steven :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.