Between Brushstrokes

By felicitypapp

Dizzying Revelations

Some of you were nice enough to give me a nudge, wondering perhaps if I was still alive. I am, indeed. Thank you for your concern, it's appreciated!

What has happened in the... - let me check - in the 10 months since my last blip? Not a whole lot.
The world kept spinning, as far as I could tell.


That in itself warrants a moment of contemplation, though...
The earth's rotational speed at the surface is roughly 465 meters per second and causes an equatorial bulge. Things actually weigh a tad less there.
So if you feel bad about your weight, you could always move to Singapore or Nairobi.

Please bear in mind, though, that the re-location won't actually cause your mass to decrease - just your weight.
Well, if you discount for the effect of moving large boxes full of crap, that is.


This little bit of information was supposed to make you feel good.
Science tends to elicit a smile out of me, making me feel all fuzzy on the inside. Perhaps that's why I moved to Europe, where people (for the most part) see no reason to climb back into the middle ages.
An increasing number of Americans are frightened by science these days; it's an uncomfortable mix of intimidation and resentment. It'd be funny if it weren't so sad.

Yes, I went back "home" for a bit. For my little brother's wedding (whom I like very much and who's actually not little at all).
It was an occasion to be girly; to see family and friends; to reconnect with people. To rekindle my love for America.
Save for the last bit, it all went well. This comes to mind.


But back to more pleasant topics, like us sitting on a spinning rock that is being hurled through space...

Did you know that last year's earthquake in Japan (yes, the one that makes us glad we had all that fish while it wasn't glowing in the dark) actually caused the earth's rotational speed to increase?
Our days are shorter now. By 1.8 microseconds, to be exact.
Feeling dizzy yet?


So here it is... visual proof that I am, in fact, still alive. Taken last night on my way home from dinner.

There were these pointless lights in an alley: sunk into the pavement, making the windowless side of a store building look all pretty and sterile - polluting the sky above with 15 million candlepower beams, all screaming: "Come to earth; there's shopping down here!"

Alas, no spaceships landed while I was there. I think it's fairly safe to say that the aliens are not impressed by our assortment of shoes.
Not enough to take a detour, at least.

I can't say that I'm surprised. After all, I buy my shoes online these days; and I don't see how being a member of a space-faring race would make you be more tolerant towards the horrors of retail world. Beams or no beams.

Anyways, I passed by that alley and thought, "Why not. This is as good an excuse as any other."
My drinking buddy and partner in crime unfolded his 40 year old Polaroid and put his skills to work while I allowed myself to be enlightened illuminated.
Hope you like!


shot on Fuji Instant film (FP-3000B) with a Polaroid Model 355

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.