stujphoto

By stujphoto

Monochrome Monday - Frost Patterns

I got up this morning fully expecting the weather to be similar to Sunday with a bright sunny sky but sub-zero temperatures as I want to have another shot at shooting the ice patterns n the windows of our summerhouse. Sadly it was a bit overcast and slightly above zero so the ice patterns were rapidly disappearing. As none of them has crystalline beauty I have chosen to give you a montage of four shots. The top left one was taken with a 50mm macro lens but all of the others were taken with my most strong super macro set up - a 28mm lens reversed attached to a full set of extension rings (64mm). With this set up you do not focus using the camera's manual focus but have to move the camera back and forward until you get the perfect focus. I fortunately have a manfrotto moveable camera rack to do the hard work for me and I rely on a magnified LivewView to check my focus. As you can see see at this magnification some of the sharp edges of the ice patterns become more rounded unless, of course ,the ice patterns were too rapidly thawing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.