98markymark

By 98markymark

Rich in Heart

Twenty five years ago today I took a break from every day life to travel to the Philippines and I immersed myself into a new culture. One I was not accustomed to. Being a young college kid with privilege, I quickly changed my perspective on what I value while I was there. Incredibly, in spite of what little the Filipino people had, earned, or owned, or even what their government took from them, they always remained content. Never complained for what they didn't have or the bad breaks life may have given them. With practically nothing materially, they turned to value what money couldn't buy..the love of family and each other, that was their wealth. That was their joy. That was their reason to smile.



This cross cultural experience was intended to change lives and help with human needs, but to my benefit, it was MY life that was changed and my eyes that were opened, and it was my spirit that was humbled. God bless the sensitivity of our human souls...it's there in each one us. We can find it underneath the layers of pride, and we can let humility open our eyes. I'm still learning this lesson each day.



This will be my last post for awhile...it's been super fun, but it consumes a piece of time each day that I need for other things. And I'm such a perfectionist that I cant just take a picture and display it without editing..its my downfall :)

I'll keep following your blips and checking on all your great pictures. And email me if you ever want to talk photography and tips: msarnold98@gmail.com . I've learned so much from everyone.

My best

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.