Man Praying, 2012

I was informed by the artist that he calls this piece Man Praying. I saw it yesterday morning for the first time and went there again this afternoon, with the intention of getting a blip. Alert followers of the cafe series will recognise this as the "outdoor cafe" I blipped a while back.

Just after I had taken this picture, the artist came over and asked if I liked it. After establishing that I did, he proceeded to tell me its name, point out that the hands are in a prayerful pose, and ensured that I noticed that he has castrated the figure. Indeed, he has removed the penis. He then describe his thought processes in making it.

He talked about how in the history of humans, men had dominated and in modern New Zealand women were now beside men; neither in front nor behind. He talked also of the death of chivalry being a bad thing. That it was not about controlling women but being respectful. He became a little more intense at that point.

Finally, he spoke of the absence of justice in the Family Court for fathers. Before he could continue, I gently disagreed and said that I had to be getting on.

(I appreciate that some (perhaps many) men have a jaundiced view of the Family Court. In my involvement with the processes of the Family Court, men with money and determination to keep going will usually outlast any mother, and will generally gain, especially if the woman has been depressed or anxious.)

I then continued with my run. I am now about to head out for Peer Review dinner with my colleagues.

Back home after a useful (and pleasant evening). I had meant to identify this as a response to Blast's challenge word for the week, metallic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.