Fieldfare

It was a very cold night last night, -13 degrees recorded at Shawbury which is not far from here. The coldest temperature in the country. It has felt bitter all day.

There have been lots of birds at the feeders, as well as the usual suspects it was good to see a nuthatch. This beautiful fieldfare was on my hawthorne and four redwing were feeding on the cotoneaster berries - they're always the last to be eaten.

While I was watching them eating some of the berries under the bush, one of them began squawking and displaying, to deter the others I would imagine. Perhaps they weren't from the same flock or one was protecting it's food. I looked up their behaviour but can't find any reference to this. I have put a photo of it as an extra. Although I had taken better photos of the redwings I thought that this was very interesting. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.