Shutterup

By Shutterup

Also comes in white..

Truthfully .... l really thought she was white!!  Clearly whiteness is relative.

It has been a glorious sunny day which started bitterly cold.. think it was -7 last night and by the time l left the house it was still -4.5 which meant the roads were actually pretty treacherous.  l had an appointment in a slightly remote village will a long hill going down in to it and to be honest if my back was not so bad l might have cancelled the session for fear of getting stuck on the icy roads.  Well ... let that be a lesson to me!!  I slithered my way into the village... slowly but most definitely not entirely in control.. l then could not quite reach the house l was heading to because l could not get a grip on the final hill so reversed down the hill again swinging into a driveway up a slope in order to turn and go back down to park.  The problem with snow is that there is no 'side of the road' and the only safe place to stop is in the track that the other cars need to use !!  Oh dear!  A journey that normally takes 15-20 minutes had taken me an hour thus far and l was late.  I managed to get back up to the little Square and pulled to one side at the top of a hill... thinking l could always slide down a little to the brown surface behind me and got out to walk thereo the appointment..not exactly easy walking on ice with a bad back.. l really did not want to fall.  Anyway.. l had a very good and intense 40 minute appointment and feeling a bit 'altered' set off back to the car.  It took me 5 or 6 goes to get away from the side of the road and start making tracks.... slowly.  The BIG hill was still to come... up past the pub on the corner round the next corner and then the long half mile slope l had slithered down... still -1 at about 11.30.  I was doing ok... when a car appeared coming down.. no room... arghhh..what to do?.. a brief reduction on the accelerator lost it for me.. stuck on the slippery slope..with backwards the only option.  To cut a long story short l couldnt get up that hill.. saw the grit bin.. by the pub.. managed to park the car in a dodgy place on the corner so other cars could pass and went in to the pub to ask for a shovel or something to spread a little grit.. they didnt have one but instead had three gentlemen who were only too happy to oblige.. they pushed and shoved me as far as they could only for me to stall the car and slide back down.. then they gritted it for me.. and one asked if l had a traction control.. l did.. so l deactivated it and Bingo.. l had a car that l was more in control of.. the drive stopped jumping from one tyre to the other and let me drive off up the hill... phewf!!!  I was mighty glad to get home after all that and have no intention of heading out in it again!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.