The second half of life..

By twigs

There once was an ugly duckling . . . .

The first and only time I'd ever been to Timaru was over 20 years ago when I co-coached our school netball team at the South Island tournament hosted here. I remember it being a rather slow and somewhat dull place with little to entice me back.

Now, coming back to another netball tournament but no longer coaching - only supporting - I have found a town I barely recognised. The ugly duckling is now a beautiful swan. Whatever it is that the local council is doing they should keep on doing it :)

The town is a bit funky, very interesting, the local parkscapes are well considered and well created with an awareness of a host of stakeholders needs. The sports facilities are fantastic, the town is easy to navigate and above all, the people are mega friendly and helpful.

A very sound lesson in challenging those first impressions!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.