Gàidhealtachd

Another routine day, at least until the evening.

Then after work I whizzed over to Glenrothes for the annual festive social of the Fife Branch of the Gàidhealtachd. It may be the only "festive social" I've ever been to which was alcohol free. Suited me just fine of course. A Diet Coke gives me palpitations and hot flushes these days.

It was fun to talk to other learners, the course tutors and native speakers. BBC Alba was there to film it. Strange but true... we sang a Gaelic song (backing vocals for Norrie) for the camera. Very strange, but true.

Bear in mind I'm tone deaf (or worse) and I'm only on lesson 10 of the language course. My contribution was only just better than humming along.

I remembered my Blip in the brief (very brief) daylight hours. The approach to the Old Kirk. I walked through the graveyard on my way back from the Post Office, really just for 5 extra minutes of daylight, fresh air and freedom from sitting at my desk.

Oh, and by the way... Gàidhealtachd isn't just used to refer to the Gaelic speaking ares of Scotland. Oh no. It is also used to describe the Gaelic speakers of Nova Scotia and Glengarry County, Ontario. So there...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.