PhilattheBeach

By PhilattheBeach

Eagle In The Afternoon

It was a relatively mild December day today so I decided to take the motorcycle out while I had the chance.

Took a ride over by the marsh area and almost didn't stop but turned out to be glad I did.

Just as I was approaching the area I saw a group of snowy egrets quickly take flight in a panic.
This behavior can often mean a bald eagle is in the immediate air space.

That turned out to be the exact case and just as I stopped to look around, I saw the eagle flying straight for me.

He took a look at the water but he wasn't fishing, he ended up heading right for a nice branch in a nearby pine tree to preen and grab a little sun. 

After a brief rest he took off and was kind enough to give me a terrific couple of high circles right over my head.

Such a well mannered eagle!  :-)

Plus, any day you see a bald eagle is a good day. Well, as long as you are not on the menu.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.