Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Fairies Bonnets

Fairies Bonnets, Coprinus disseminatus, grow often in large masses on the old stumps and fallen logs of broad leaf trees. Their little dainty caps are are sometimes buff or paler than these but are distinctive for their white stems and gills.

In the early light, before the rain began to fall, they looked as enchanting as their name implies. The little fly that buzzed around them looked a little like their fairy!

Although Fairies Bonnets are edible, you'd need a huge number to fill a plate after cooking. I personally don't know anyone who would eat them.

I decided to make a quick trip to hell the supermarket. Like me, the whole of Surrey must have seen the weather forecast and decided to shop today. I didn't buy anything much out of the ordinary, no impulse buying and no major stores or detergents but at the cash desk the machine wanted just short of £100.
At the rate prices are rising I will have to start foraging full time! :)) Road Kill may be the way forward. Joking apart, things are going seriously over the top. I feel for those of you with full families to feed.

By the time I exited the car park it was pouring and hasn't let up since. How glad I was to have walked the dogs early!





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.