RavensRoost

By RavensRoost

Hoarfrost Adorned

Walk Along

A walk along cold creek I took
late one December night.
To see its darkened, rippling flow
and taste its frozen bite.

Hoarfrost adorned each bare tree limb
and ice clung to the flow
of frigid waters in the brook,
a winter night aglow.

The blue-white fire of icy stars
burned on an ebon sky,
illumined by the silent moon
whose gray eyes seemed to cry.

Quite long I stood beside the rill
and breathed chilled air divine.
It seared my lungs, it stirred my soul,
was rich like ancient wine.

I stood and sighed until the air
made cold my face and cheek,
then slowly walked my circuit home
and heard all nature speak.

That dark and frosty night so fine
which stayed outside my door,
remained with me as I sought sleep,
and bid my spirit soar.
                            
12--19-14
Common Verse

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.