Greenland

Thirty-two years ago, around this time of year, I had just returned from a three-month geological expedition to Greenland. I brought this rock back with me. It is part of a big-feldspar dyke, and though it may not look very much here, it is part of an amazing story. When the surface of the Earth cracked in this part of Greenland - many millions of years ago - a molten magma shot up to fill the gap - that is the dark, fine-grained background to this rock. As the magma slowly cooled, the chemistry changed, and the large white crystals - feldspar - started to grow. (they are up to 6cm long and 4x4 cm in cross-section). The white crystals were lighter than the darker material, so they floated upwards, a bit like froth on choppy water, and there they solidified, and there I found them. They are now part of my fireplace! (An indoor blip todays as it is too wet for me to go outside).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.