Pink's photos

By PinkTransit

Steam train

It is better to travel well than to arrive.
Buddha

And this is the epitome of travelling well :-)

I love travelling by train - I think because I only do it when going somewhere fun: a short train trip up to London to see my daughters, a slightly longer one down to Keynsham to see a friend (I'm doing that one again tomorrow), going on holiday.

My favourite train trip was from Cairo to Aswan on an overnight train. We shared small cabins that (with the aid of a uniformed porter) transformed from a tiny sitting room with a dining table to a bedroom with fold-down bunk beds. We had to stand in the corridor while the porter made up the beds with sheets and blankets, and then lay in bed watching Egypt pass by the carriage windows - tiny glimpses of other peoples worlds. A family asleep on a bench on a railway station platform, people walking through fields as the sun rose, other travellers sharing part of a journey.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.