Art Critic

We went into Newcastle today for a more relaxed day of strolling, a little light shopping and lunch in the Laing Art Gallery.

We went to see the Quentin Blake exhibition (only a few days left!), which I really liked, but Alexander preferred their contemporary photography exhibition Futureland Now. He had to be carried so he could see everything properly. I must confess I thought I should have appreciated it, but I wasn't getting the sense of sublime as advertised. Some of the images were interesting though.... In fact, Alexander really liked this reproduction of the end of the world - he asked to see the 'people falling down' several times. He recorded his appreciation in the visitors' book.

Then we donated some books to the Oxfam bookshop, bought a dragon book and then some olives from the market, before stocking up on cake in M&S and heading home.

Then I made pumpkin soup for tea, which we had with obligatory ham and pease pudding and fresh bread. Yum.

P.S. I've just noticed this makes our nostrils look huge - like relatives of Tubbs...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.