Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Cyclamen

After the lovely autumn weather we've been having, I had hoped for more of the same today. I had a job to do at the holiday lodge so went there via the lake. Conditions were just very ordinary, so no lake shot today. Instead, a blip of one of the clumps of cyclamen growing in the rockery under the verandah. It seemed more appropriate as I don't often get the chance go there due to good bookings!

What I liked so much about getting this shot was that the name of cyclamen derives from the Greek, kyklos, meaning circle. On the shot you can see the way the stems of the dead flowers have contracted into a spiral to draw the seeds close to the earth.

EDIT: With my feet up and a nice drink nearby, I have forgotten the most memorable part of the day! I went out at lunchtime to do a bit of shopping. On my way out of the shop I had a mishap, wrenched my foot and lay on the pavement, cushioned by my shopping bag. Nobody rushed to help me, nobody asked if I was OK. I got up, brushed myself down and made my way back to my shop. Now, late at night, my foot is very painful and swollen, I can't weight-bear, but nothing is broken. Radiographers have x-ray eyes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.