Garden robin

After a fine start, the day quickly became overcast. Pete and I went down to the Boardwalks to gather material for a wreath, as I really wanted to make my own using local products, rather than buying something over-priced. We found plenty of material and I spent the rest of the morning weaving the supple stems of golden willow and deep red dogwood into a base, and then adorning it with hazel, birch, ivy and teasel heads. I then added some red ribbon for a splash of colour - it was not necessarily the neatest of wreaths, but it's certainly unique and looks good on the front door!

First thing this morning I'd spotted a couple of redwings eating our Cotoneaster berries, and though I'd taken a record shot through the window, I wanted to see if I could get a bit closer. I found a couple of places where I could lurk with my long lens, but every time I got settled one of our cats came and found me, miaowing loudly. I quickly gave up the unequal struggle, and took a quick shot of one of our two feisty resident robins, who isn't the least worried by cats or people, before going back into the warm house to do some work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.