Lali's World

By Lali

Paul and Kaelah at the Boathouse

They are part of The Family (Paul, Fiona and Kaelah), who organised the open mic session on Sunday. A great night, as usual. 

Sunday, day off. Did some exercising in the morning and some more practising with the guitar after lunch. I had to prepare for my debut. Of the three songs I'd been practising, only two I could play without mistakes at home. So, I decided to play just those two. As, I've only been playing the guitar for a year, as you can imagine, I'm not particularly confident, so I was glad my friend Nick said he would be there for support. 

At the boathouse, the butterflies in my tummy were quite strong. In my head I kept practising the cords and lyrics of the two songs I was gonna sing and play. My friend Clive said he would join in for support as well. It was good that both Nick and Clive were there because my hands were shaking so much with the nerves that I kept getting my chords wrong and forgot the lyrics of the first song (Blowing in the wind by Bob Dylan) half way through, but I managed to somehow keep going. The second song I played (Hallelujah by Leonard Cohen, although I was singing Jeff Buckley's version) went a bit better, but I was still getting some chords wrong and messed up the lyrics of one of the verses. And I was doing so well at home.... Never mind, got lots of encouraging comments but I was deeply embarrassed after my performance. Maybe I do better next time. 

Thanks very much for all your lovely comments and stars. I hope you all had a nice Sunday! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.