lisamiriam

By LmiriamC

Glassy

Such a dreary and rainy day! But I just got a wonderful massage that was definitely worth going out for. So I dug into my jewelry box for a blip.

Here are some of my favorite glass beads, which I made oh probably more than 5 but less than 10 years ago. Since I moved, I have not set up my studio due to lack of space plus I was working too much. Now that I am taking a break from the rat race, I am tempted to fire it all back up but there still is no good place for it. Also, I don't know if I have the passion for it like I used to.

These beads are made with solid black and white glass, and transparent green, clear, and the notoriously fussy rubino oro glass - it's the dark pink. It is expensive glass because it actually has flecks of gold in it which is what makes it pink. It's easy to burn this color if you put it too close to the flame (it will turn a permanent smudgy black) so with this glass,  you must go slow and be patient. One fun thing about working with glass is learning things like what metals are used for which colors. The other thing of course is just the dazzling array of colors to work with. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.