Every Picture Tells .....

By ROBERT10

Long Term Investment

MONDAY

Thank you to everyone for all those touching comments, hearts and stars on my blip yesterday. Blippers are such lovely people.

Today I nipped out at lunchtime to get a haircut and buy a lightbulb.  I remember the days when  tungsten filament bulbs lasted a year at the most. We always used to have a stock of spare bulbs in the house.

The bulb I bought today is supposed to last "up to 25 years". Worryingly to think I might be in my late eighties when the bulb expires! Even the youngest person in the office would be more than halfway to their pension if this bulb lives up to expectations.

It prompted some debate in the office. My colleague Giles reminded me of the following story:

A financial advisor sits down with an 85 year-old man to go over his investments. He suggests a few stocks that should give the elderly man a quick return. Then, the broker suggests that he look at some safer, long-term investments.


“Long term investments,” the old man exclaimed. “I don’t even buy green bananas!”

Oh and today's  blip is the table lamp from above with the new bulb.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.