Old man of the woods . . .

I came across this old photo of my maternal Granda while we have been sorting out the spare room.  I'm not sure when this was taken, he died in 1986, but it was obviously when he was still able to dig up snowdrops!

He was a very keen gardener and looked after the cemetery in Rothbury, Northumberland for many years.  He dug all the graves by hand and maintained them beautifully, with neatly mown and edged grass and lots of wonderfully planted flower beds.  He was a great fan of Municipal Planting, floral clocks and the like, as well as a keen fruit and vegetable grower.

I could go on about him at length . . . . I was very fond of him and my Granny and spent as much time as I could with them.  As I get older (!) I am becoming more and more interested in family history and, luckily for me, my aunt has done a lot of research so she can fill me in with lots of details.  

Edit: Nibba says it's near Yetlington.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.