Scone

The only photo taken today as I passed the Perth suburb of Scone in the car and liked the unusual clouds above the houses.

We were on our way home from Perth, where my first stop was an appointment at the Eye Clinic at PRI.  Not the best news, although it had been expected after my visit to the optician last week.  

Back in June this year, I was diagnosed with dry AMD (Age-Related Macular Degeneration) in both eyes.  I was reassured that it could take many years before my vision was noticeably affected, but also warned that on rare occasions it could develop into wet AMD, a much more serious condition.  

While on holiday in New Zealand, I noticed a real problem with the vision in my right eye and was finding it very difficult to read anything, even with glasses.  Hence the appointment with my optician on my return.  The tests he did suggested that the right eye had changed from dry to wet AMD and the hospital confirmed that this morning.

There is treatment available for wet AMD (although not yet for dry AMD) and it consists of injections into the affected eye, with the hope that the condition can be arrested and (if you are very lucky), possibly improved for a time.  There will be an injection a month for three months, followed by another assessment and a decision on any further treatment.  

My first injection is booked for 29th December, so at least I am getting to enjoy Christmas before then:-)

This getting older is no lark.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.