Simple pleasures

‘Try to live simply. A simple lifestyle freely chosen is a source of strength. Do not be persuaded into buying what you do not need or cannot afford. Do you keep yourself informed about the effects your style of living is having on the global economy and environment?’

This is a quote from Quaker faith &Practice. I am not sure where I first came across it, but it seems especially relevant at this time of year.

I went in two major chain stores today, one of which was a supermarket. I was shocked at what people were buying, but I tried to make wise choices , some Christmas Chocolates in a metal tin rather than a plastic tub, and ketchup in a glass bottle rather than squeezy plastic one, and found some cotton buds with paper stems to buy. If we all made small switches like this we would make a difference. From what I saw we aren’t living in austere times.

BD1 Brass have been nominated for two awards, and our MD, Lee Skipsey, a third. Honoured to have been nominated. Read all about it here. http://www.4barsrest.com/news/detail.asp?id=31559

I’ve spent a simple evening freely chosen crocheting, as the photo shows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.