Kaifeng Fu

This is the largest building inside a place called Kaifeng Fu. This was where the very famous Lord Bao held court. It was very interesting to walk around and read the (very) good English about the place and about him. He live from 999 to 1062 and was renown throughout China for his "intolerance of injustice and corruption" (quoted from Wikipedia). Even now, just typing those dates gave me a feeling of ancientness and history.

The day started off well.. Out for a walk to find some noodles for breakfast. I walked for an hour but didn't find a noodle place till I was almost back at the hostel. It wasn't open when I started my walk. Seems that most people here eat Chinese zhou (a thin rice porridge) or they eat Tofu for breakfast. Then out walking artound the Kaifeng old city. ITtwas interesting but tiring. After that, out for another long walk to another touristy spot and then back for dinner. I got back in the late afternoon and had a short nap. Then out for dinner.

I went to the same night market I went to last night. I was VERY tempted to try bat for the first time but gave it a miss. Too bad I am off to a city called Handan tomorrow to meet with an old friend otherwise I would have tried it tomorrow night. After dinner I fell asleep.. That's why this one has been blipped late.

Up early tomorrow for two train trips. First to Zhengzhou and then to Handan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.