A Very, Old Christmas Card.

When I was a little girl, my Dad was the Beadle (not a term you heard used anymore) of a large church in London.  He was also, caretaker of the 3 storey building, that were their church halls.

The halls were often used by the BBC for their rehearsals.  There were always troupes of dancers, and I used to sit and watch them avidly, on the outside staircase.

The two troupes I remember the most were The Leslie Roberts Silhouettes and The Television Toppers.  The card was from the Toppers.   Both these troupes were high-kickers, which you just don't see anymore.

They were all lovely girls, and always very nice to me and my family.  They all signed the back of the card.

They probably gave us other cards, but this is the only one I've kept.

I've posted the inside of the card in extras, when you pull each little cat out of it's stocking, there is a little message.

Ahh! memories.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.