Treasure Everywhere

By RobT

War Artist

Today is the first day of Pickering War Weekend, when the town goes into a time warp back to 1943. It's a strange and fascinating spectacle. I got a good portrait of a great "Winston Churchill" in full attire, posing for me with cigar and victory sign, but then realised that I'd got that chap last year at this time.

My mate Scott is a professional portrait photographer and he's got a great little thing going for the weekend where he takes pics of the 'enactors' in their 1940s regalia with appropriate props and then does them sepia-tinted prints almost instantly. I was cheeky enough to take a photo of him taking a photo...

Anyway, if you're in Pickering for the weekend, Scott is in the garden of Mulberries cafe next to the train station!

More War Weekend photos here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.