Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Canaries

A little jaunt to the east before Christmas to take in some football and another couple of grounds in what will be a very long quest to the 92. I'm approaching a quarter of the way there but I reckon it will be another 10 years or so before I get there.

I came to Norwich a couple of times in the early 90s but haven't been back since, and as it was dark when I arrived this evening I've yet to see if I recognise any of it.  

A Friday night game at Carrow Road provided the first half of the weekend's entertainment. Norwich were hosting Brentford in a Championship fixture; Canaries v Bees.  Brentford started strongly and were 2-0 ahead by half-time. Norwich threatened a little more in the second half, but as crosses and shots sailed high into the stand the crowd grew increasingly disenchanted. A 90th minute goal sparked a little energy but there was to be no more to follow and 1-2 it finished.

"You should have gone Christmas shopping," taunted the Brentford fans. "We should have gone Christmas shopping," agreed the Norwich fans."

I'll spend tomorrow morning enjoying Norwich in the daylight before heading back over to Peterborough to take in my second game of the weekend, and then home to rest up for Christmas.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.