The Messy Feast: the Coast-to-Coast Meal at C.C.'s

In my pursuit of intercultural elucidation of American cuisine, I have often posted photos of food on these pages. Oh, I don't just do it for all of you. Oh no. I also do it for me. My husband and I love to eat. Food is one of our many passions. It's also a fun photography subject for me!

One of our favorite local eating establishments is C.C. Pepper's, a cheesesteak joint, of which there used to be many in the State College area. At one point, I think there were at least three, maybe even four, branches. (Cheesesteaks are big in Pennsylvania, you must trust me on this!)

Alas, now we are down to just one C.C.'s, which is located on North Atherton Street, at the Walmart Plaza. It is conveniently (for us) "on the way home." Since I spend a few days in town each week putting in some hours doing the best I can on behalf of the University, almost every week, I stop and bring us home a pair of nine-inch cheesesteaks.

Usually, our meal is "to go." So I bring home one Philly style (steak with melted cheese, fried onions, and zesty sauce) for me and one authentic (steak, fried onions, and cheese sauce) for my husband. I love it, but Philly is not my favorite, oh no.

My absolute favorite is the "coast-to-coast," which is a combination of both Philly and California styles. You've already heard about the Philly style. The California style features steak with melted cheese, lettuce, tomatoes, and mayo.

Yes, the coast has it ALL, the best of both worlds! But I usually only order it when we dine in, as I don't like my lettuce to travel and get soggy and warm. (Yes, I'm fussy that way.)

Even better news, you can pick up a loyalty card at C.C. Pepper's, and get it stamped each time you visit. After nine stamps, you get a freebie: the entire meal, whichever sandwich you want, plus fries and a refillable drink. So guess what my special treat was on this day, just GUESS!

My card was full, as was my heart. And as my stomach SOON would be, upon consuming this messy sandwich, fries, and drink. (My husband helped, of course; in fact, seldom could I eat such a feast in its entirety - that's a BIG order of fries!)

What could be better than a tasty coast-to-coast cheesesteak meal for Christmas? Well, of course, one that's FREE! So happy Christmas to me, from the gang at C.C. Pepper's. And now . . mangia! :-)

The song: The Who, with I'm Free.   :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.