An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Christmas Eve, Eve...

I am delighted to report that my Tesco Christmas food delivery arrived this morning all present and correct.  Phew!

It was booked to arrive between 11am and 12 noon so David took Lola for her walk at 10am so he would be back in time to take delivery.  

I had just started blowdrying my hair at 10.15 when my mobile rang.  It was the Tesco driver asking could he deliver early as he'd had a drop off in our street.  Knowing how busy he would be today and feeling full of Christmas spirit (metaphorically that is, I hadn't started on the Sloe Gin :-) I said that was fine.  "Great!" he said, "I'm just turning into your driveway!"

I met him at the back door, him full of good cheer and me with a head of half blowdried hair (poker straight at the back, curly at the front), tartan PJ bottoms and a red fleecy top with white snowflakes.  He was very kind and didn't comment.

Twenty minutes later and our Christmas feasts up to next Thursday were laid out before me.   Now to find space in the fridge and freezer.  Just as well we kept our old fridge freezer.  Tesco man shook my hand and wished me a very Merry Christmas.  I wished him the same and gave him a tub of Celebrations and was taken aback by how touched he was by the gesture.  

David arrived back with Lola and after putting the freezer food away, I left him dealing with the rest and went upstairs to try and do something with my bird's nest hair (not very successfully).

We postponed our visit to Agnes and Adrian's until tomorrow as David wanted to empty the outhouse of all the cardboard in it waiting to be recycled, to make space for the tons of packaging from Christmas Day.  As our local recycling centre isn't open tomorrow, it had to be done today.  

Alan and Jordan headed off to Falkirk for some last minute shopping plus a trip to the Falkirk Wheel and The Kelpies.  I updated my to do list just for the thrill of seeing how organised I am.  It really is unheard of.

Alan went for a swim when he came home and was exhausted and is now in bed tired and happy.  I wrapped the last couple of pressies.  One of David's hasn't arrived and it was a lovely add on to his main pressie, so I'm a bit annoyed about that.   Never mind, it will be a nice belated surprise when it finally shows up.

I was going to write a bit more but there's a gorgeous Golden girl wanting up onto my knee for a cuddle and I can't resist :-)))

But before I go, the amazing, wonderful voice of Tom Chaplin is the sound of Christmas in our house this year. Do yourself a favour and download his album Twelve Tales of Christmas. I promise you won't regret it :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.