Thinking of Angels on Christmas Eve

Dear Diary,

This is one of two cherubs that Matt brought down from the barn attic for me so they could hang above the fireplace for Christmas.  It will be a quiet Christmas eve for me.  My cough is really bad and I got very little sleep last night.  It didn't help that the ice storm turned to rain and hunks of ice kept falling on the roof from the trees.  It sounded like we were under a barrage!  It will be a nap for me today and, unfortunately, no church service which I always look forward to.

Yesterday was the day back in 1999 of my dear auntie's funeral.  The same auntie whose house I showcased yesterday.  One of my cousin's sent me a photograph of the snow angels they made at Joslyn's memorial service on December 15th.  She reminded me that we made snow angels at auntie's funeral too.  It is sort of a tradition in my family.

My wonderful first grade teacher, Miss Murphy, taught us how to make snow angels while we were waiting for the school bus one snowy afternoon.  She was such an inspiration for my own teaching so many years later.  Yes, I am thinking of angels today...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.