In the Pink

I just re-read this entry - what a lot of waffle. Don't feel you should read it - just enjoy the pretty garden scene instead.

Today I headed out to Springfield for the wedding of my friend T and her Partner A. It was planned as a garden wedding but the snow and rain today meant that the ceremony was held in a marquee instead.

Springfield is a place that moves me to strong emotions. I lived here for 6 years, my son went to the primary school here and we have wonderful memories of the place and the people. But it is also the place we were living when I was diagnosed with breast cancer, and consequently went through surgery and chemotherapy.

It has to be said that if you have to go through something like this, a community like Springfield is a wonderful place for it. My friends and acquaintances were wonderful and the support of the whole community made the difference between coping and not, and meant that my son, only 10 at the time, was able to continue to live his life normally. I can never show my full appreciation of that.

Twelve years on, this blip serves two purposes.

Firstly good wishes to A and T for their future and a tribute to T and all the work she had put into her wonderful acre of garden, in preparation for today's wedding. A beautiful setting and a credit to her hard work. Gardens that look this 'natural' take so much effort to create and maintain. There are pathways winding through the gardens, little surprise corners and secret niches, a wonderful place to quietly explore. This photo was taken (in the pouring rain) from the front verandah - without a wide angle lens I couldn't get more than a quarter of the verandah and front garden in. But do note that I managed to get a couple of pink blossoming trees in.

Secondly, a thank you to the community of Springfield for their support during a stressful time and for enabling me to raise a son who was not too traumatised by my ill health and possible outcomes.

Breast Cancer Awareness is so important and any money donated to help sufferers and continue research is money well spent.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.