The Jenneting

By Nettinoo

Christmas

My heart goes out to everyone with loved ones in a critical condition in hospital while the NHS operates on holiday cover this weekend.

My elderly mother, who is fighting a very serious infection and is extremely weak, went without nutrition through her nasal feed for nearly two whole days purely due to understaffing. I’m not pointing fingers at anyone at UCLH. The doctor and nurses that I have been in contact with over this painfully long fiasco tried their best in extremely frustrating circumstances.  However I have to wonder what would have happened if my brother and I hadn’t been on the case.

I’m not going to start a political rant but it’s distressing to see the NHS in decline.

When Mum was finally reconnected and medicated in the evening I went down to my brother’s to spend time with the children and eat a fantastic Christmas Eve dinner of roast ham with celeriac gratin. When the kids were in bed and the wine had kicked in we had a good cry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.