amateurism

By victoriawitthof

hockey

Some motivated kids making their own ice hockey rink on Christmas Day. First a small one for the younger siblings; then a big one for the teenagers :) 

It's been a long time since I posted on Blipfoto, but this picture and the conversations I had about it motivated me to come back. For me, a British implant in Sweden, scenes like this are so strikingly emblematic of Northern culture and climate that I can't help but be taken in by them sometimes, even after living here for quite a few years. 

I can't quite describe the feeling I get when I see these sorts of things. It's a different feeling to the one I get when I'm abroad as a tourist and see the locals doing stereotypical things. 

For my Swedish family and friends, this is a mundane activity that everyone has experienced many times as a kid. (No surprise they don't find it interesting).  
But for me, the fact that this is an everyday occurrence is the part that affects me. Because it's a part of my everyday now too, except not. 


Maybe you can't understand this feeling if you haven't lived in another country? Or maybe I'm just an idiot who makes too much of things. 

I orignally made this Blipfoto when I moved to Sweden. Back then basically everything was fascinating to me. The drop-off in posts coincided with my being increasingly comfortable with living here. But maybe I'm not as used to my new life as I thought, even after seven years. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.