The second half of life..

By twigs

Happy campers

It was great for the girls to finish their tournament with a win which made their final placing 11th. Not quite as good as they'd hoped but a pretty fine effort to be ranked that high in the country.

I stayed and watch the finals - wow! The winning team (Mount Albert Grammar from Auckland) were easily several cuts above the other teams at the tournament and they didn't drop their standards for the finals. A great display of excellent netball from a bunch of fit, athletic, determined, and passionate young women.

Decided to drop in to see hpx on the way through Christchurch. It was great to see her again and catch up - and the fur child, despite his recent issues, seemed very friendly too! I was very tempted to stay but I had a growing feeling that I wanted to get home so decided against it.

This was the first time I've been to Chch sinece the earthquakes and as I drove through the city north I skirted the edge of the red zone. Even now, almost 2 years after the first quake, I was moved by the scenes - so many vacant plots where buildings had clearly once stood, piles of rubble, patchy roads with roadworks forever, half deconstructed buildings - but the people seeming to take it all in their stride and moving through the city intent on just carrying on and dealing with it.

It wasn't too far along the road when I began to feel the tiredness descend on me once again. I made it to a wee campground and decided to stay. I'd barely pulled up (there were about 4 other vehicles parked) when I noticed someone coming towards me. I asked if she was the caretaker. "Not really," she said "more like the camp mother" Seeing my 'wings' (NZMCA membership emblem) she invited me over to her caravan for drinks. I didn't mean to, but I found myself saying 'ok'!

I spent an enjoyable hour or so talking with her and hubby/partner who introduced themselves as Jeff & Robyn. They were real characters!! They've sold their house and are living for the time being in the caravan (which was more like a small flat!) but had another smaller bus which they travelled about in when they wanted to tour a bit. I'm sure they'd have talked until the wee small hours but I really was quite tired so excused myself and headed back to my van.

Another great day : ) I'm rather enjoying this semi-nomadic lifestyle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.