The Artist's Eye

By ArtistAnnie

Frost Heaves

I took this on a walk Helena and I took this afternoon. I picked her up around two and we took a walk together in Cordata Park. I had seen these the other day but today there were more of them and they were much more interesting looking. I like them.

Dave and Nora came over around four and we played Mexican Train dominos while Helena rested and read. I made seafood chowder and salad for dinner. Nora brought garlic bread. We all had hot fudge sundays for desert. It was a nice simple meal which was great after all the rich and wonderful food of the holidays. Dave complimented me on the meal's simplicity. We all had a lovely quiet evening together. Now I'm listening to music and doing my blip before watching a bit of TV before bed.

This morning I was quite sad thinking about Arvin but as the day passed my mood lifted. I've found that if I acknowledge my sad feelings they seem to fade and soon are gone like mist above a lake. They drift in and then fade away. I really don't mind feeling sad. I miss Arvin but I know that there is no way he could physically be here right now, especially not in the robust and full way he was before he got Alzheimer's. And I know he is better off wherever he may be now. And so I am glad at the same time I'm sad. And time with family and moments with friends really help.

My son Jason texted and we had a good old chat. I called a girlfriend. And another friend sent me a nice text. I am very lucky to be surrounded by loving family and friends.

I hope you all are having a happy and playful holiday season. Sending love from the beautiful Pacific Northwest to you wherever you may be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.