Merchistoun

By Merchistoun

Merchistoun Hall

Merchistoun Hall in Horndean used to be home of John Napier, a mathematician who invented logarithms. He moved south from Merchiston Castle in Edinburgh - and perhaps the letter 'u' was added to Merchistoun Hall due to his Scottish accent (although in Horndean both are pronounced ~ton anyway). The hall is now a community centre for the town.

My earliest memories, aged 3-4, are attending nursery at Merchistoun Hall, and I later went on to study mathematics at university, so when I formed my company in 2007 Merchistoun was the name I used (and later for blipfoto of course). I was very pleased to get a shot of the hall today on such a beautiful morning.

It's a bit "postcard-style" and not exciting in terms of angle, and frankly the PhotoShopping is a bit of a train wreck up close (I had to paint out a parked car and a lamppost - I am not very gifted at PS), but the place means a lot to me and I love blue skies - so I'm very happy to make this today's Blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.