AJC

By AJC

Thinking Small

In recent years I've found television wildlife documentaries mostly unwatchable. Long gone is the ground-breaking charm of Oxford Scientific Films, replaced by a tedious Hollywood blockbuster mentality. What I love about my version of wildlife is that I can wander out into my suburban garden for 5 minutes and find several new species. Formerly designated Calvatomina nr. superba, Jordanathrix nr superba resembles but is distinct from Dicyrtomina superba from New Zealand. Thought to be a relatively recent introduction to the UK, first recorded about 10 years ago. Similar to Dicyrtomina ornata but in D. ornata the eyepatch is uniformly dark; in this species the eyepatch has a reddish background colour. 
  
  
Sony ILCE-6000 
Canon MP-E 65mm F2.8 G SSM 
f8 1/200 ISO 100 
5X, 2 images, Zerene DMap  
  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.