This Too Will Vanish...

By etherghost

These are a few of my journals. A few snippets and chapters in a life.

There is a story in one of them I wanted to share with you, but of course I can't find it. That makes me seem more like an artist doesn't it. I am actually quite organized in my own way (that also makes me sound like an artist) oh well. I am one.

So, instead of the story I wanted to tell you, I will flip through and find another one. Just a snippet from my brain in the past. I don't always date the entries...

This one is from April 14, 2004. Eight years ago...This is the one that started all of these books to being filled. While it is a bit of a boring read, it did launch a thousand better words, ideas, and paintings down the line.

Today, I am going to start morning pages. I have read about doing them in the Artist's way and in other books. So, I am not sure exactly what to do but I think I am supposed to ramble on for three pages non stop about anything that comes my way. I am listening to music by Radiohead, a great song but I am not sure the name of it. I borrowed it from the library. The library is such a wonderful resource, I went there yesterday and came back with an arm load of books and CDs. It is always a great feeling. It is a beautiful spring day. The house is all clean- even my studio looks nice. I am hoping to do something creative today as it makes me feel so good when I do. It is hard to begin- sometimes it is these periods of inactivity that lead to my great bursts of activity but I wanted to start these morning pages first because I have heard they are a great thing. My hand is starting to hurt like when I would take long essay exams but you just keep writing even when it hurts. Strange my CD player is supposed to be rotating between 3 CDs but it doesn't seem to be. I think I will try a journaling exercise I read about the other day. "Snap shot" journaling the who what when and how I am of today. Who: A hopeful woman who is on an upswing after being a little down. Hopeful because I can learn to challenge my behaviors to create a better and more happy existence. What: Hmm.. I am not sure about this. What I am doing is writing, listening to music, curious as to what the day holds on the creative front. Will I paint? Will it be good?When: It is morning, the light cast shadows and reflections on my floor. Music is exciting, there is so much to discover. It may be my true passion that I have let go a bit dormant. How: Well, I am at the end of my three pages and after this I will re-read the section in the artist's way about the morning pages so I can learn how they will benefit me in my creativity and life. I enjoyed the experience so far. It is like talking to myself. Okay, I am not sure about snap shot journaling. All I can say is that music may be the best therapy and writing to music, even better and painting to music is a wonderful thing too...

MUSIC is written in all caps and circled many times at the bottom of the page.

...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.